Funny Birth Playlist

This is the story behind my Flippant Birth Playlist.  It seemed like a funny birth playlist was necessary this time around.

humorous labor music

I didn’t have birth music when I delivered Flintstone at home 4 years ago.  Being at home, I figured if I wanted to listen to music, I’d just have MacGyver put it on.  Didn’t end up wanting any music anyway.

Since we went to the Alternative Birth Center for Rad’s birth (thanks to Michigan’s draconian midwife regulations), I figured I should put together a playlist just in case (even though I was pretty sure I’d be more likely to want to watch Psych or anthropology documentaries while in labor – which turned out to be true for most of it).  Plus, the idea of making the playlist seemed like way more fun than any actual, useful planning…

I didn’t want any sort of sappy, soothing playlist.  My labor for Flintstone had been very energetic, and I had wanted to move around the whole time.  If I was going to listen to music in labor, it needed to be fun.

flippant labor music

Most of the songs I went with were birth related puns (the obvious first choice being Salt n Peppa’s Push It).  Some of them were songs with sentimental value, mostly fun songs that my brother Boo would have suggested that could tie into birth (like Some Nights by FUN.).  And a few personal anthems (*ahem* Buffy theme).

I ended up with a totally fun list, and I did actually end up listening to it during the birth (though MacGyver was the one who thought to put it on when I was so far along that I couldn’t watch Psych anymore).  My mom ended up being in the room – which wasn’t planned – and so I was a little chagrined when You Can Do It by Ice Cube came on, but my mom assured me she wasn’t paying any attention to the “damn music.”

Ultimately, once the labor kicked in in earnest, I blew through it so fast that I only listened to a fraction of the playlist.  Still, it was really fun to create and to have on in the room.  At 2:57am we welcomed Rad into the world to the song Roll to Me by Del Amitiri – a song that my friends and I deemed an omen of good luck back in High School.  If we heard Roll to Me on the radio, it was going to be a good day.  A fitting omen for the moment of birth – and also now one of Rad’s favorite lullabies.

So, without further ado, the Urban Earthworm Flippant Birth Playlist (all linked to my Spotify):

Led Zeppelin – When The Levee Breaks
Jesus Jones – Right Here Right Now
REO Speedwagon – Ridin’ The Storm Out – Live Version
The Cars – You’re All I’ve Got Tonight
Back In Black – You Shook Me All Night Long
Ice Cube – You Can Do It – Feat. Mack 10 And Ms Toi
Bachman-Turner Overdrive – You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet
Queen Latifah – When You’re Good To Mama
Marc Cohn – Walking In Memphis
Collective Soul – The World I Know
Europe – The Final Countdown
Lady Gaga – The Edge Of Glory
Aerosmith – Sweet Emotion
Destiny’s Child – Survivor
Fall Out Boy – Sugar, We’re Goin Down
Fun. – Some Nights
Peter Frampton – Show Me The Way
Tears For Fears – Shout
REO Speedwagon – Roll With The Changes
Del Amitri – Roll To Me
Scorpions – Rock You Like A Hurricane
The Doors – Riders On The Storm – New Stereo Mix Advanced Resolution
Salt-N-Pepa – Push It
Lady Gaga – Poker Face
Madonna – Papa Don’t Preach
Seether – Out Of My Way
Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up
The All-American Rejects – Move Along
Mark Snow – Materia Primoris: The X-Files Theme (Main Title)
Spin Doctors – Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong
The Cranberries – Linger
Elton John – Levon
Pete Townshend – Let My Love Open the Door (Philip Steir Remix)
Jimmy Buffett – Kick It In Second Wind
REO Speedwagon – Keep Pushin’
House Of Pain – Jump Around
Danny Elfman – Jack’s Obsession
Geri Halliwell – It’s Raining Men
Fun. – It Gets Better
The All-American Rejects – It Ends Tonight
Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers – Into The Great Wide Open
Rodney Atkins – If You’re Going Through Hell (Before The Devil Even Knows)
The Pointer Sisters – I’m so Excited
Diana Ross – I’m Coming Out
Jo Dee Messina – I’m Alright
The Rembrandts – I’ll Be There For You [Theme From FRIENDS] (45 version)
Huey Lewis & The News – I Want A New Drug – 2006 Digital Remaster
Madagascar 5 – I Like To Move It
Thompson Twins – Hold Me Now
The Black Eyed Peas – Hey Mama
Bon Jovi – Have A Nice Day
Maroon 5 – Harder To Breathe
Let It Be – Hard Days Night
Green Day – Good Riddance [Time Of Your Life]
Billy Ocean – Get Outta My Dreams, Get into My Car
Creedence Clearwater Revival – Fortunate Son
Jimmy Buffett – First Look
Survivor – Eye of the Tiger
Metallica – Enter Sandman
Jimmy Buffett – Desperation Samba (Halloween In Tijuana)
The Studio Sound Ensemble – Coyote Ugly: Can’t Fight The Moonlight
Gloria Estefan – Coming Out of the Dark
Jimmy Buffett – Come Monday
K7 – Come Baby Come
Carmen Twillie – Circle of Life
Blue Oyster Cult – Burnin’ for You
Brandon K. Verrett – Buffy The Vampire Slayer- Theme From The Television Series
The Doors – Break On Through (To The Other Side)
Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons – Big Girls Don’t Cry
Sandie Posey – Be My Baby – Dirty Dancing
Meat Loaf – Bat Out Of Hell
Jimmy Buffett – Barefoot Children
Amy Grant – Baby, Baby
Ace of Base – All That She Wants
Meat Loaf – All Revved up with No Place to Go

What's Your Take?

